The University Archives sheds light on student life and the academic experience at this institution since its establishment as the Fourth District Agricultural & Mechanical School in 1906 (doors opened in January 1908), through the creation of the West Georgia College in 1933, the name change to State University of West Georgia in January 2005, through its current status as doctoral-granting research university, the University of West Georgia. The University Archives focuses on the historical record of the university, particularly its presidents and vice presidents, notable faculty and student life. Notable materials include the papers of the first president of the university, Irvine S. Ingram, whose long presidency covered the period of World War II and with grant funding from the Rosenwald Foundation created educational programs for the community and expanded the educational opportunities for students in this area of the rural South. Also notable are the papers of past university president, James E. Boyd, which document the integration of the university in summer 1963 and the May 1964 campus visit of Robert F. Kennedy.

Special Collections has digitized nearly all the yearbooks printed during the University's history. Not only has digitizing the yearbooks provided with one-click access to the history of UWG 24/7, but it also preserves the historical information provided by these books for ages to come.

Other great historical documents that have been preserved, including Student Handbooks, Uncatalogs, Freshman Revues, and more can be found at

The West Georgian, first published on November 1, 1933 under the direction of Editor Doris West, is the University of West Georgia's (UWG) student newspaper. The publication contains articles on sports, culture, students, campus life, national and international news, and significant issues of the day, along with advertisements from local businesses. Years 1933-2007 can be found at

Additional history compiled for the Centennial Celebration can be found here: