Rules Committee Agenda for 11/27/18 meeting at 8:45pm (SON Room #200)

1. Minutes:

Any Changes, Additions, Modifications

2. Regular Agenda Items:

a. <u>UWG Institutional Procedures</u>, <u>Section 2</u>. <u>Academic Affairs</u>. Rules committee members will revise/reformat the UWG <u>Procedures</u> within each area of Section 2.0 using the <u>UWG Procedure form</u>. Review the Faculty Handbook for the rules/regulations offered and offer revisions as necessary. The "assignments" are listed below (Rules committee member listed, new Policy name, and old <u>UWG Faculty Handbook</u> number):

Yun: Evaluation Process

103.0201 Formation and Operation of Faculty Promotion and Tenure Evaluation

Committees

103.0202 Dean's Evaluation

UWG Procedure 2.2.3

Laura: 103.0205 Appeal of Negative Evaluation

UWG Procedure 2.2.4

Anja: Annual Evaluation 104.0101

UWG Procedure 2.4.1

Shannon: Pre-Tenure Review (Third Year Review) 102.0201 B. and UWG

Procedure 2.4.2

Susana: Time Limits for Tenure 103.0402

Georgina: Post-Tenure Review (104.02)

Tammy: Evaluation of Chairs (104.06)

Brent: Evaluation of Deans (104.06)

Angela: Annual Leave (111.01)

UWG Procedure 2.5.1

Charlie: Professional Leave (Awards) (112 through 114.0201)

For further information, please review the Policy website at https://www.westga.edu/policy. You will find the "Policy Index" listed under the "UWG Policies" dropdown menu. In addition, there are policies for review listed under the "Policies for Comment" section.

3. Additional Agenda Items:

4. Informational Items:

A. Senate – Rules Committee... 2017-2018 Members List

	Senate Members			
Velez-Castrillon, Susana (Chair)	svelez@westga.edu	Senate-RCOB (2019)		
Branyon, Angela	abranyon@westga.edu	Senate - COE, 2021		
Miller, Laura	lmiller@westga.edu	Senate – COAH (2020)		
Remshagen, Anja	anja@westga.edu	Senate- COSM (2020)		
Faculty Members				
DeWeese, Georgina	gdeweese@westga.edu	Faculty – COSM (2019)		
Vito, Anthony	avito@westga.edu	Faculty- COSS (2019)		
Finck, Shannon	sfinck@westga.edu	Faculty - COAH (2020)		
Cheng, Yun	ycheng@westga.edu	Faculty – RCOB (2020)		
Gilles, Brent	bgilles@westga.edu	Faculty - COE (2020)		
Volkert, Delene	dvolkert@westga.edu	Faculty - TSON (2019)		
Sicignano, Charlie	charlie@westga.edu	Faculty- Library (2020)		
Administrators				
Jenks, David	djenks@westga.edu	Administrator - Associate VP for Academic Affairs		
Simpson, Jane	jsimpson@westga.edu	University General Counsel		

Rules Email list: svelez@westga.edu, abranyon@westga.edu, <a href="mailto:limitaring:

B. Rules/Senate Agenda Meeting Schedule 2018-2019

Rules Meetings (Tuesdays)	Rules TSON room/ Time	Senate Agenda Deadline	Senate & Exec. Committee Meetings	Senate Meetings Location/Time	Executive Committee Location/Time	
Dates	TSON #200	Dates	Dates	Location TSON 106	Location TSON 200	
9/25/18	8:45 - 10:45	10/5/18	10/12/18	3:00pm	2:00pm/	
10/23/18	8:45 - 10:45	11/2/18	11/09/17	3:00pm	2:00pm/	
11/27/18	8:45 - 10:45	11/30/18	12/07/18	3:00pm	2:00pm/	
1/22/19	8:45 - 10:45	2/15/19	2/22/19	3:00pm	2:00pm/	
2/26/19	8:45 - 10:45	3/23/19	3/29/19	3:00pm	2:00pm/	
3/26/19	8:45 - 10:45	4/20/19	4/19/19	3:00pm	2:00pm/	
4/30/19	8:45 - 10:45			3:00pm	2:00pm/	
*5/28/19	8:45 - 10:45					
*6/25/19	8:45 - 10:45	6/7/19	6/14/19	3:00pm	2:00pm/	
*7/23/19	8:45 - 10:45	7/12/19	7/19/19	3:00pm	2:00pm/	
* these meetings will be scheduled if there are pending agenda items						

C. Rules Committee purpose per UWG Policy and Procedures:

Purpose: to review and make recommendations to the Faculty Senate regarding the structures, composition and organizational aspects of the Faculty Senate and its committees and the rules under which they operate; to resolve disputes between Senate committees, to recommend clear, transparent, efficient, and effective rules for faculty participation in shared university governance; to consider appeals for cases of alleged violations to the rules; to recommend and to coordinate revisions and updates to the WWG Faculty Handbook, Statutes, Bylaws, Policies.org/ and any operating protocols the Senate establishes.

Membership: four senators; seven faculty, one elected from each of the five colleges (COSM, COSS, COAH, RCOB, COE), the School of Nursing, and the Library; two administrators: the University General Counsel; and one appointed by the Provost. (Total: 13)