Rules Committee Minutes for 01/22/19 meeting at 8:45 am (Miller Hall Room #2212 Miller Conference Room)

Approved Electronically on February 26, 2019

Members Present: Shannon Finck, Yun Cheng, Brent Gilles, David Jenks, Judy Butler, Susana Velez-Castrillon (chair)

1. Minutes:

Any Changes, Additions, Modifications

2. Regular Agenda Items:

a. <u>UWG Institutional Procedures, Section 2. Academic Affairs</u>. Rules committee members will revise/reformat the UWG <u>Procedures</u> within each area of Section 2.0 using the <u>UWG</u> <u>Procedure form</u>. Review the Faculty Handbook for the rules/regulations offered and offer revisions as necessary. The "assignments" are listed below (Rules committee member listed, new Policy name, and old <u>UWG Faculty Handbook</u> number):

Susana: Section 103.06 Evaluating Teaching

Susana is going to ask the Faculty Development Committee when they are working of this policy, so that it can be taken to Rules, and then to the full Senate.

Yun: Evaluation Process 103.0201 Formation and Operation of Faculty Promotion and Tenure Evaluation Committees 103.0202 Dean's Evaluation 102.0202 Flue Device a UV is a Device of the fact of the

103. 0203 The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs's Evaluation 103. 0204 Final Approval

In the November meeting the committee approved the changes to sections 103.0201 to 103.0204. The items were in the agenda for the January meeting of the Senate, but was tabled because Susana Velez did not attend that Senate meeting.

The committee has suggested a new addition to this policy, because some faculty have observed that there is no definition of voting faculty members.

We decided that we will change the policy as follows, after is voted by the Senate in February. Rules will add the definition, and send it to the Senate again.

Faculty Committee

A faculty promotion and tenure evaluation committee, consisting exclusively of no fewer than three tenured faculty members selected voting faculty members of the department, as defined by Article 2 Section B of <u>University Statutes</u>.

UWG Procedure 2.2.3

Laura: 103.0205 Appeal of Negative Evaluation UWG Procedure 2.2.4 Laura was not in attendance

Susana: University of West Georgia Policies and Procedures Section 2. Faculty Senate Organization J. Standing Committee, Membership and Purpose 2. Graduate Programs Committee

The Committee was asked to update UWG's Policies and Procedures to include the Registrar as a member of the Graduate Programs Committee. The Registrar is already a member of the Undergraduate Programs Committee (UPC), so adding them to Graduate Programs parallels UPC.

<u>Anja</u>: <u>Annual Evaluation 104.0101</u> UWG Procedure 2.4.1

Shannon: <u>Pre-Tenure Review</u> (Third Year Review) 102.0201 B. and <u>UWG</u> <u>Procedure 2.4.2</u>

Susana: Time Limits for Tenure 103.0402

Georgina: Post-Tenure Review (104.02)

Delene: Evaluation of Chairs (104.06)

Brent: Evaluation of Deans (104.06)

Angela:Annual Leave (111.01) UWG Procedure 2.5.1

Charlie: Professional Leave (Awards) (112 through 114.0201)

For further information, please review the Policy website at <u>https://www.westga.edu/policy</u>. You will find the "Policy Index" listed under the "UWG Policies" dropdown menu. In addition, there are policies for review listed under the "Policies for Comment" section.

3. Additional Agenda Items:

4. Informational Items:

A. Senate – Rules Committee... 2017-2018 Members List

	Senate Members		
Velez-Castrillon, Susana (Chair)	svelez@westga.edu	Senate-RCOB (2019)	
Branyon, Angela	abranyon@westga.edu	Senate - COE, 2021	
Miller, Laura	lmiller@westga.edu	Senate – COAH (2020)	
Remshagen, Anja	anja@westga.edu	Senate- COSM (2020)	
	Faculty Members		
DeWeese, Georgina	gdeweese@westga.edu	Faculty – COSM (2019)	
Vito, Anthony	avito@westga.edu	Faculty- COSS (2019)	
Finck, Shannon	sfinck@westga.edu	Faculty - COAH (2020)	
Cheng, Yun	ycheng@westga.edu	Faculty – RCOB (2020)	
Gilles, Brent	bgilles@westga.edu	Faculty - COE (2020)	
Volkert, Delene	dvolkert@westga.edu	Faculty - TSON (2019)	
Sicignano, Charlie	charlie@westga.edu	Faculty- Library (2020)	
	Administrators		
Jenks, David	djenks@westga.edu	Administrator - Associate VP for Academic Affairs	
Simpson, Jane	jsimpson@westga.edu	University General Counsel	

Rules Email list: svelez@westga.edu, abranyon@westga.edu, liniller@westga.edu, abranyon@westga.edu, liniller@westga.edu, abranyon@westga.edu, abranyon@westga

Rules Meetings (Tuesdays)	Rules TSON room/ Time	Senate Agenda Deadline	Senate & Exec. Committee Meetings	Senate Meetings Location/Time	Executive Committee Location/Time		
Dates	TSON #200	Dates	Dates	Location	Location		
				TSON 106	TSON 200		
9/25/18	8:45 - 10:45	10/5/18	10/12/18	3:00pm	2:00pm/		
10/23/18	8:45 - 10:45	11/2/18	11/09/17	3:00pm	2:00pm/		
11/27/18	8:45 - 10:45	11/30/18	12/07/18	3:00pm	2:00pm/		
1/22/19	8:45 - 10:45	2/15/19	2/22/19	3:00pm	2:00pm/		
	MH2212						
2/26/19	8:45 - 10:45	3/23/19	3/29/19	3:00pm	2:00pm/		
3/26/19	8:45 - 10:45	4/20/19	4/19/19	3:00pm	2:00pm/		
4/30/19	8:45 - 10:45			3:00pm	2:00pm/		
*5/28/19	8:45 - 10:45				_		
*6/25/19	8:45 - 10:45	6/7/19	6/14/19	3:00pm	2:00pm/		
*7/23/19	8:45 - 10:45	7/12/19	7/19/19	3:00pm	2:00pm/		
* these meeting	^k these meetings will be scheduled if there are pending agenda items						

B. Rules/Senate Agenda Meeting Schedule 2018-2019

C. Rules Committee purpose per UWG Policy and Procedures:

Purpose: to review and make recommendations to the Faculty Senate regarding the structures, composition and organizational aspects of the Faculty Senate and its committees and the rules under which they operate; to resolve disputes between Senate committees, to recommend clear, transparent, efficient, and effective rules for faculty participation in shared university governance; to consider appeals for cases of alleged violations to the rules; to recommend and to coordinate revisions and updates to the *UWG Faculty Handbook*, *Statutes*, *Bylaws*, *Policies and Procedures*, and any operating protocols the Senate establishes.

Membership: four senators; seven faculty, one elected from each of the five colleges (COSM, COSS, COAH, RCOB, COE), the School of Nursing, and the Library; two administrators: the University General Counsel; and one appointed by the Provost. (Total: 13)