# Rules Committee Agenda 01/13/20 Meeting, 2pm, TLC 2-207

### 1. Minutes

Any Changes, Additions, Modifications Action: Approve minutes from 11/18/19

## 2. Regular Agenda Items

Rules committee members

- revise/reformat <u>UWG Policies and Procedures</u> of Section 2, Academic Affairs using the <u>UWG Procedure form</u>
- review the <u>Faculty Handbook</u> for the rules/regulations offered and offer revisions as necessary
- check compliance with the <u>BOR policies</u>, in particular with the <u>BOR Policy</u> <u>Manual</u> and the <u>BOR Academic & Student Affairs Handbook</u>.
- a. Update on policies & procedures in progress:
  - The Faulty Senate has approved
    - the Modifications to Faculty Handbook Section 103.0302 Specific Minimum Criteria for Promotion, except for the striking of "from Lecturer" in item 6: "Professional Growth and Development for Promotion from Lecturer to Senior Lecturer"
    - UWG Procedure 2.2.2, Criteria for Promotion
  - On Jan 17, FDC intends to revise the changes to the following faculty handbook sections as suggested by the Rules Committee:
    - 103.0201 Faculty Promotion and Tenure Evaluation
    - 103.0402 Time Limitations Time Limits
    - 102.0201 The Probationary Period
    - 104.01 Administrative Evaluation of Faculty & 104.0101 Procedure
- b. Criteria for Tenure
  - Faculty Handbook Section 103.0403
  - UWG Procedure 2.3.2
- c. Annual Evaluation of Chairs
  - Faculty Handbook Section 104.03
  - UWG Procedure 2.4.4

### d. Membership

	Senate Members					
Remshagen, Anja (Chair)	anja@westga.edu	Senate – COSM (2020)				
Angela Branyon	abranyon@westga.edu	Senate – COE (2021)				
Beznosov, Mikhail	mbeznosov@westga.edu	Senate – COSS (2020)				
Miller, Laura	lmiller@westga.edu	Senate – COAH (2020)				
Faculty Members						
Bishop, Mary	mbishop@westga.edu	Faculty – THSSON (2021)				
DeSilva, Landewatte	ldesilva@westga.edu	Faculty – COSM (2021)				
Finck, Shannon	sfinck@westga.edu	Faculty COAH (2020)				
Gilles, Brent	bgilles@westga.edu	Faculty – COE (2020)				
Hollingsworth, Allison	alisonh@westga.edu	Faculty – RCOB (2020)				
Sewell, John	johns@westga.edu	Faculty - COSS (2021)				
Sicignano, Charlie	charlie@westga.edu	Faculty- Library (2020)				
	Administrator					
Overfield, Denise	doverfie@westga.edu	Provost and Vice President for				
		Academic Affairs appointee				
Carman, Kristi	legal-list@westga.edu	University General Counsel				
	Google Group					
Faculty Senate Rules Committee, fs-rules-list@westga.edu						

#### A. Meeting Schedule

Rules Meetings	Rules Location/ Time	Senate Agenda Deadline	Senate & Exec. Com. Meetings	Senate Meetings Location/Time	Executive Committee Location/Time	
Dates (Mondays)	Location TLC 2-207	Dates (Fridays)	Dates (Fridays)	Location TSON 106	Location TSON 200	
08/26/2019	3pm-4:30pm	09/06/19	09/13/19	1pm	11:30am/12pm	
09/23/2019	3pm-4:30pm	10/04/19	10/11/19	1pm	11:30am/12pm	
10/21/2019	3pm-4:30pm	11/01/19	11/08/19	1pm	11:30am/12pm	
11/18/2019	3pm-4:30pm	11/29/19	12/06/19	1pm	11:30am/12pm	
01/13/2020	2pm-3:30pm	01/17/20	01/24/20	1pm	11:30am/12pm	
02/10/2020	2pm-3:30pm	02/14/20	02/21/20	1pm	11:30am/12pm	
03/10/2020	2pm-3:30pm	03/20/20	03/27/20	1pm	11:30am/12pm	
04/07/2020	2pm-3:30pm	04/10/20	04/17/20	1pm	11:30am/12pm	
TBD*	TBD*	06/05/20	06/12/20*	1pm	11:30am/12pm	
TBD*	TBD*	07/10/20	07/17/20*	1pm	11:30am/12pm	
* these meetings will be scheduled if there are pending agenda items						

## B. Rules Committee Purpose (UWG Policies and Procedures)

**Purpose:** to review and make recommendations to the Faculty Senate regarding the structures, composition and organizational aspects of the Faculty Senate and its committees

and the rules under which they operate; to resolve disputes between Senate committees, to recommend clear, transparent, efficient, and effective rules for faculty participation in shared university governance; to consider appeals for cases of alleged violations to the rules; to recommend and to coordinate revisions and updates to the <u>UWG Faculty Handbook</u>, <u>Statutes, Bylaws</u>, <u>Policies and Procedures</u>, and any operating protocols the Senate establishes.

**Membership:** four senators; seven faculty, one elected from each of the five colleges (COSM, COSS, COAH, RCOB, COE), the School of Nursing, and the Library; two administrators: the University General Counsel; and one appointed by the Provost. (Total: 13)