

### University of West Georgia

Vol. 4, N. 1 September 17, 2018

# Faculty Senate Newsletter

As those of you who have been around for a while know, our former Senate Chair, Dr. Julia Farmer, began a tradition of sending out a newsletter after each month's meeting of the Faculty Senate. That will be continued this year. The Senate met for its September meeting last Friday, September 14, 2018.

#### New Location

The Senate meetings have moved from the TLC to the Tanner School of Nursing, Room 106. You might wish to make note of that, should you have reason to attend a meeting.

#### Summary of Actions

The Faculty Senate approved all curricula that were on the Agenda, without dissent. In addition, an explanation of the Graduate Faculty Approval Policy was given and approved.

#### Graduate Faculty Policy

The purpose of the policy is to streamline the process for appointing graduate faculty. With the new policy, all faculty in a tenure line will be considered graduate faculty; it is up to the Chair to determine the appropriateness of assigning a graduate level course to that faculty member. Faculty in limited term positions, faculty emeriti, community professionals, and faculty at other institutions may be appointed to the graduate faculty as Affiliate Graduate Faculty through a process that requires demonstrate evidence of the faculty member's expertise.

#### Town Hall

Our Provost, Dr. Michael Crafton, is hosting a Town Hall on Wednesday, September 19, 2014, which will be in the Ballroom, Room 108.2. It begins at 10:00 am.

#### FACULTY SENTATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:

Judy Butler, Chair

Angela Insenga, Executive Secretary

Julia Farmer, Past Chair

Jeff Zamostny, Undergraduate Programs

**Colleen Vasconcellos**, Graduate Programs

Nancy Pencoe, Academic Policies

Basu Dutt, Faculty Development

Felix Tweraser, Institutional Planning

Dawn Neely, Student Affairs

**Christie Johnson**, Facilities and Technology

Lisa Robinson, Intercollegiate Athletics and University Advancement

Henry Zot, Budget

Susana Velez-Castrillon, Rules

**Angela Pashia**, Diversity and Internationalization

John Morris, Teaching, Learning, and Assessment

**Micheal Crafton,** Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Kyle Marrero, President

## Faculty Senate Newsletter

