Faculty Development Committee (FDC)

Minutes: September 28, 2018

Approved October 26, 2018

Senators:

Present: Basu Dutt (Chair and minute taker), Soo Moon, Jeff Reber, Mark Faucette.

Not present: Betsy Dahms (Represented by Emily Hunt)

Representatives:

Present: Salvador Lopez, Ann Barnhart

Not present: Neal Chestnut, Erika Wentz, Michael de Nie, Lacy Ricks, Kelly Dyar

Administrators:

Present: Mike Hester

Not present: Micheal Crafton (Represented by Denise Overfield), Jane Simpson

Guest:

Judy Butler (Senate Chair)

The meeting was called to order at 1.10 pm, RCOB Miller Hall, 2212

This was the first meeting under the new FDC chair, Basu Dutt. It started with a meet and greet. The first order was to elect a chair elect for 2019. Betsy Dahms (not present) was unanimously nominated as chair elect for next year. This will be done in the October meeting, as the process indicates.

The second order of business was to open a discussion on the Faculty Grant Approval process timeline. Soo Moon will send me a copy of the (timeline) process approved for last year, and we will discuss it at the next meet. Denise Overfield will invite Amber Spratlin and Roger Wareham from the Office of Research and Sponsored Projects (ORSP) to come to the next meeting and help guide FDC with the structure and logistics of this timeline. This will be worked on in earnest, since it has to be in place before 2019 the FRG process starts.

The third order of business was to look at and edit/modify the Faculty Handbook Section 103.06. Michael Hester has agreed to open a (shared) google document so that everyone on the committee can review this section, and modify the language to better reflect the reality of our paperless world. Note: ITS no longer has any role in evaluations.

FDC will open the discussion on the "fair treatment" of adjuncts/instructors/lecturers. The discussion will extend to having a "faculty evaluations" process to clearly distinguish faculty from staff evaluations. Micheal Crafton will be invited at a future meeting to help us with the guidelines for this process.

Information item: COE representative for this committee Lacey Ricks has left, and so there will be an election soon, for her replacement.

The meeting was adjourned at 2.15 pm.

Next meeting: October 26, 2018 at 1 pm, Miller Hall, 2212 conference Room

Respectfully submitted

Basu Dutt

Chair, FDC