# Faculty Development Committee minutes January 17, 2020 1:00 pm, Miller Hall 2212

Present: Basu Dutt (chair), Michael Camp, Ericka Wentz, Denise Overfield (VPAA), Jeff Reber, Betsy Dahms, Dan Williams, Amin Boumenir, Mark Faucette, Kelly Dyar, Kristi Carman (University Counsel), Rebecca Gault (for Stacey Britton), Salvador Lopez, Anja Remshagen (Rules)

Chair Dutt called the meeting to order at 12:59 pm.

1) Anja Remshagen of the Rules Committee discussed several proposed changes to the Faculty Handbook, and FDC members offered feedback.

### 103.0403 Minimum Criteria for Tenure

In the phrase "Service to the Institution," strike "to the Institution," as the BOR has specified that "service" also includes service to the profession, community, etc.

# **103.0201 Departmental Evaluation**

Debate centered around the stipulation that the departmental evaluation should be conducted "exclusively by no fewer than three tenured members of the department selected by the faculty of the department by whatever ever means the faculty of the department shall determine." Initially, Remshagen thought that the inclusion of "exclusively" sounded redundant, but FDC thought that it was necessary in order to avoid questions about whether the wording might allow non-tenured faculty to end up on promotion and tenure committees. For the same reason, FDC recommended changing the wording of the first part of the phrase to "exclusively by tenured faculty members of the department (no fewer than three)." Dan Williams also suggested changing the second part of the phrase from "selected by the faculty of the department by whatever means the faculty of the department shall determine" to "selected by the faculty of the department by whatever means the department shall determine." The omission of the second use of "the faculty" in the phrase was designed to avoid the problem of different departments having different standards for who is a voting member of the department for what purposes(s), and leaves it up to individual departments to make that determination.

Question from Mark Faucette: Does this allow non-tenured faculty to vote for members of the P&T committee?

Answer: Yes, if a department permits that in its definition of "faculty of the department."

## **103.0402** Time Limits for Tenure

Section has been rewritten to conform to BOR policy – one-year extension for FMLA "qualifying event," or extension for taking administrative appointments

Questions from Jeff Reber: Does this means that department chairs would be able to postpone post-tenure review? This would go a long way to mark department chairs as administrators rather than faculty, which is a big deal, and many department chairs would not be okay with this. Answer: Another BOR policy says that the total time permitted by extensions is two years, so this would not be an issue.

Dan Williams wanted the two-year stipulation to be included in the UWG Faculty handbook in addition to the link to the BOR policy, as links die and the BOR renumbers policies.

Question from the committee: Why is a clause on the termination of tenured faculty under this heading?

Answer from the committee: It has nothing to do with Time Limits for Tenure and should go elsewhere.

# **104.01 Administrative Evaluation of Faculty**

Recommendations from Rules Committee primarily had to do with cleanup of wording. Comment from Dan Williams: The performance criteria of "research, administration" should be changed to "professional development, service" to conform to wording elsewhere in the Faculty Handbook.

Question from Jeff Reber: Why is there a clause about evaluating faculty who don't have teaching in their primary job responsibilities? Do we have any faculty like that at UWG? Answer from Michael Camp: Yes, in the library.

#### 102.0201 Pre-Tenure Review

This section contains wording on "the faculty of the department" that should be cleaned up along the stipulations in 103.0201.

Comment from Dan Williams: Wording on "professional qualifications" should be changed to "academic achievement" to match BOR.

The inclusion of section C and D in this section, which appear to pertain to faculty non-renewals, is very puzzling, as they don't seem to have anything to do with Pre-Tenure Review. Section C, according to Kelly Dyar, makes it sound like a "rogue" group of faculty can get together, decide they don't want a non-tenured faculty member renewed, and go to the dean with this recommendation. Section D contains information on non-renewals that is probably duplicated elsewhere. FDC recommended that section C should be deleted, and that Remshagen should check that section D is duplicated elsewhere before deleting it as well.

- 2) Mark Faucette will chair the subcommittee on Faculty Research Grants. Betsy Dahms and Ericka Wentz volunteered to serve as the other two members of the subcommittee.
- 3) Kelly Dyar motioned to approve the minutes of the September 20, October 18, and November 15 meetings. Mark Faucette seconded. The committee voted to approve.

The meeting was adjourned by Chair Dutt at 2:35 pm.