## UWG Association of Retired Faculty and Staff Annual Reunion Sunset Hills Country Club August 11, 2018 Noon

**Welcome:** President Mitch Clifton opened the luncheon meeting at 12:01 p.m. and reviewed the agenda. He announced our first recipient of the Legacy Scholarship, Jake Saunders, grandson of Coordinating Council member Martha Ann Saunders. Jake was present and was recognized.

Mitch then introduced Vice President for Advancement Dave Fraboni who expressed his appreciation to the retirees and then introduced President Kyle Marrero.

**President's Remarks:** Dr. Marrero was involved that day in assisting students and parents who were moving in. He highlighted a number of recent achievements at the University including the following:

- Anticipated enrollment this year of 13,700-13,800 students.
- Improved graduation rates.
- Increase in the number of degrees awarded.
- Completion of the renovated Biology Building which will be dedicated in September.
- Construction of a new health center in partnership with Tanner Medical Center.
- Reduction in tuition for online courses which will result in tuition savings for 72% of the University's students.
- An ongoing capital campaign which engendered the largest gift in the history of the University.
- The new Richards College of Business building, made possible in part by a gift of \$5,000,000.

**General Membership Meeting:** President Mitch then moved to the nomination of officers and Coordinating Council members. The following slate was approved:

## Officers:

President: Kathryn Grams (term 2018-2020)

Vice President: Linda Picklesimer (term 2018-2020)
Past President: Mitch Clifton (term 2018-2020)

Secretary: Bruce Lyon (term 2018-2020) Treasurer: Bob Reeves (term 2018-2020)

At-Large Members of the Coordinating Council:

Jimmy Drew (term 2018-2020)
Dan Flinn (term 2017-2019)
Swain Harris (term 2017-2019)
Tom Mackel (term 2018-2020)
Melanie McClellan (term 2018-2020)
Debbie Novak (Scholarship Committee; term 2017-2019)

Gail Reid (term 2017-2019)

Anne Richards (Co-Chair, Program/Events Committee; term 2017-2019)
Martha Ann Saunders (Co-Chair, Program/Events Committee; term 2017-2019)
Karen Smith (Scholarship Committee; term 2018-2020)

Glenn Novak then presided over the presentation of medallions to fourteen new retirees, who were congratulated by Mitch Clifton and Kyle Marrero and offered the opportunity to make a few comments.

**Closing Remarks:** President Mitch recognized Jan Ruskell and Glenn Novak for their contributions to ARFS. He then expressed appreciation to all in attendance, in particular Denice Perdue, Alison Rosborough and Kevin Hemphill in Alumni Relations and Annual Giving for their efforts in planning and organizing the luncheon.

**Adjournment:** Mitch adjourned the meeting at 1:13 p.m.

Bruce Lyon Secretary